Friday, 24 May

#NPP2020: Buaben Asamoa wins Adentan race

Yaw Buaben Asamoa

Adentan MP Yaw Buaben Asamoa has won the New Patriotic Party’s parliamentary poll to represent the party in the 2020 general elections.

The Communication Director of the NPP beat competition from four other contestants.

He polled 422 votes.

His closes contestants Emmanuel Mantey had 217 and Freda Agyemang had 7 votes.

Ahead of the NPP polls, pollster Ben Ephson predicted that a victory for Mr Buaben Asamoa would mean a loss for the NPP in the 7 December 2020 polls.

Mr Ephson told Kwame Appiah Kubi in an interview on CTV’s morning show Dwabre Mu on Thursday, 18 June 2020 that Mr Asamoa would win the primaries because his three contenders, a former constituency Chairman Emmanuel Kwesi Mantey, Alfred Ababio Kumi and the only female contestant Freda Agyemang Sarpong, would split the ballots in his favour.

He, however, noted that Mr Asamoa would lose at the national elections.

In Okaikwei South, Mr Ahmed Arthur fell to Darkoa Newman.