Friday, 08 December

GJA unveils 27th Media Awards Committee members

Albert Dwumfour, GJA president

The National Executive of the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) has announced the formation of the 27th Annual GJA Media Awards Committee. 

This announcement was made through a press release issued by the Association on Tuesday, September 26, 2023, and was signed by the General Secretary, Mr Kofi Yeboah.

According to the statement, the committee, consisting of 9 members, will be chaired by former Director of Television at the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation (GBC), Betty Appau-Opong. The committee's primary task is to assess and evaluate entries submitted by GJA members and select winners across 34 different categories for recognition at this year's media awards.

The GJA noted that among the awards to be presented are the prestigious P. A. V. Ansah Journalist of the Year, Best Female Journalist of the Year, Most Promising Journalist of the Year, and Best Student Journalist of the Year.

The release also named the other members of the awards committee, who include Fortune Alimi, Executive Editor of the Daily Guide Network; George-Ramsey Benamba, Chief Editor of the Ghana News Agency; Loretta Vanderpuye, Regional Director at the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation Obonu FM/TV; Michael Quaye, Deputy News Editor at the Daily Graphic; Joana Afua Mensah, News Editor at United Television (UTV); William A. Asiedu, Head of News at 3FM and Co-host of the Sunrise Morning Show on 3FM; Nana Kofi Acquah, International Photojournalist; and Isaac Nuamah Yeboah, News Director at Atinka Media Village.

The 27th GJA Media Awards ceremony is scheduled to take place at the Accra International Conference Centre on October 29, 2023.

Source: Mensah